

## SAM WOO HOLDINGS LIMITED

## 三和集團有限公司\*

(Incorporated in Bermuda with limited liability)
(Stock code: 2322)

## **Announcement on Appointment of Director**

The board of directors (the "Board") of Sam Woo Holdings Limited (the "Company") is pleased to announce that Mr. Chan Wai Dune ("Mr. Chan") has been appointed as an independent non-executive director of the Company with effect from 20 May 2004. Mr. Chan is also appointed as a member of the Company's audit committee on the same date. The Company welcomes Mr. Chan to join the Board as an independent non-executive director.

Mr. Chan, aged 51, has over 22 years of experience in the finance sector, especially in auditing and taxation areas. He has served a number of committees of the Hong Kong Society of Accountants. He is also a member of the Executive Council of the China Overseas Friendship Association. He was a member of the Selection Committee for the establishment of the First Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. During the past three years, Mr. Chan has been, at different times, an independent non-executive director of China Treasure (Greater China) Investments Limited, Hualing Holdings Limited, IIN International Limited, Oriental Metals (Holdings) Company Limited and Zhongda International Holdings Limited. He is a certified public accountant and is a fellow member of the Hong Kong Society of Accountants, the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants and the Taxation Institute of Hong Kong.

Mr. Chan has no service contract with the Company and has been appointed for an initial term of one year with the Company, which will continue thereafter until terminated by either party giving not less than three months' prior notice. The director's fee payable to Mr. Chan will be determined by the Board. Mr. Chan has no interest in the shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Future Ordinance. Mr. Chan is not connected with any directors, senior management or substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company.

As at the date hereof, the Board comprises Mr. Lau Chun Ming, Mr. Lau Chun Kwok, Mr. Lau Chun Ka, Ms. Leung Lai So, Mr. Hsu Kam Yee, Simon and Chan Sun Kwong as executive directors, Chiu Kam Kun, Eric as non-executive director and Dr. Lee Peng Fei, Allen, Professor Wong Sue Cheun, Roderick and Mr. Chan as independent non-executive directors.

By Order of the Board Chan Sun Kwong Company Secretary